EltaMD – It’s not just a sunscreen

0420171912-1 (2)

Tonight I attended an event at my dermatologist’s office, Dilworth Dermatology and Laser, and had a chance to chat for a couple of minutes with the EltaMD representative.  I’m going to hit a few points that are important to me in an effort to keep this short (ie: I did not dissect the ingredient list).

EltaMD has 14 sunscreens so everyone can find one that they love and want to use every day.  No other brand has the amount of Zinc Oxide as EltaMD and still have products that feel cosmetically elegant.

My purchase consisted of sunscreen products, although they also have skincare.  I picked up the following:

UV Lip Balm Broad Spectrum SPF 31 Water-Resistant (80 minutes) with Vanilla Mint (smells yummy), 7.5% Octinoxate and 5% transparent Zinc Oxide.  Fragrance-free, paraben-free, sensitivity-free and noncomedogenic.  This lips balm contains 5% Hydromanil which creates an extended release of moisture.  This is a new product for me and haven’t used it yet (I applied it to the back of my hand).

UV Clear Broad Spectrum SPF 46 contains 5% Niacinamide, 9%  transparent Zinc Oxide, 7.5% Octinoxate and has UVA/UVBA protection.   This comes with our without a tint (I’m fair skinned so I use the no tint.  I picket up two bottles tonight.  I’ve used this sunscreen before and love it for the summer as my skin leans toward being oily and this feels weightless on my skin.  I’ve had no problems with sensitivity or breakouts.  I normally don’t use the flash on my camera but did today to see if there was any flashback and there was not.

UV Sport Broad Spectrum SPF 50 is a full-body sunscreen, Water-Resistant (80 minutes), has UVA/UVB protection, contains 9%  transparent Zinc Oxide, 7.5% Octinoxate and 5% Octisalate.   This was a GWP with my other purchases.  I haven’t used this before but looking forward to using it on holiday/vacation.

I was given samples of the Renew Eye Gel.  This lightweight gel has caffeine (puffiness), Niacinamide, Ascorbyl palmitate (vitamin C ester), Hyaluronic Acid and 2 peptides (10% Argiraline, and Syn-coll).  This is their most expensive product coming in at $50.

At the bottom of their website page there is a link about Unauthorized Resellers with a list which includes Amazon, Ebay and many other sites.  Dermstore IS an approved website.

Have you tried any EltaMD products?  What are your thoughts?

* Don’t want to miss future posts?  Sign up for email, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Blovlovin!

2 comments

  1. You nailed the description of their sunscreens with “cosmetically elegant”. I keep their Clear 46 in my rotation. I have used their tinted and non-tinted formulas and highly recommend the brand. Great review and write up.

    • Thank you! I haven’t used the body sunscreen before but I’m looking forward to trying it out, as well as the UV Lip Balm. Have a good Friday and weekend!

Leave a Reply

