Review: Ole Henriksen [Brightening Products]

0707162025-1 (2)

Ole Henriksen is a brand I’ve read about many times and have wanted to try his Vitamin C serum for as long as I can remember.   Recently I found out that Influenster had an opportunity to try the products and I was surprised (but excited!) to be chosen since I’ve only had one other review with them (you can read my previous review on L’Oreal Revitalift here).

If you’re not familiar with Influenster they’re a website that allows people on social media to receive a box with product(s) to use and review at no charge (the box is call the VoxBox).  In exchange they ask for an honest review of the products – which is what you’ll get.

I received the Truth Serum Vitamin C Collagen Booster (yay), Sheer Transformation facial creme (I’ve used these two for about a week), and the POWER Bright 3-step system (enough for one use) with two professional cleansing sponges.

0716162028-1 (2)

Truth Serum Vitamin C Collagen Booster ($48 for 1 oz.) is the product I’m already familiar with and was most excited to receive.  It’s formulated with Ole Henriksen’s proprietary 5-source Vitamin C Complex.  Vitamin C is a fabulous multifunctional ingredient.  It brightens the skin, boosts collagen, and protects the skin from everyday things like the environment and pollution.  The serum is also powered with Green Tea, Vitamin E (both protect your skin in addition to the Vitamin C Complex), and Hyaluronic Acid.  Any product takes time to see if the claims for boosting collagen and brightening are real, but I can tell you that after using this for a week I like this serum.  It’s not too thick or watery, absorbs quickly, and my skin feels soft (not sticky).  The scent is a light citrus that doesn’t linger too long.  I like this serum but I’m on the fence as to whether I would purchase this when I finish the bottle.  Mainly because while it is housed with a pump (a good thing) the container is clear.  Vitamin C should be housed either in a colored container or one that you cannot see through.  It’s sensitive to light which can break it down faster.  If I do purchase this I will make sure to keep it in my cabinet in the dark.

20160716649233760 (2)

Sheer Transformation facial creme ($38 for 1.7 oz.) is the product that surprised me.  In the summer my skin is combination, borderline oily, and there aren’t many moisturizers that I can use in this southern heat and humidity.  I decided my first use of this creme would be during the day.  This worked beautifully.  It’s perfect for my skin during the hot summer days when it’s 90 degrees but feels like it’s 98 because of the sticky humidity (no exaggeration).  This oil-free moisturizer includes several fruit extracts (to exfoliate), Licorice (brightening), Chamomile (calming), and Pea extract works with sugar and Vitamin C to fade dark spots and even skintone.  The cream is very lightweight, like it’s whipped, and I only need to use a small amount.  My surprise was how soft my skin felt with no greasy look or feeling.  I’m not good at identifying scents but it’s light.  I will keep this on hand for summer because it feels so good on my skin and I have a hard time finding a moisturizer in the summer that doesn’t leave my skin feeling slick.

0711161944 (2)

POWER Bright ($55 for 6 treatments) is a professional-strength three-step brightening system with 25% vitamin C concentrate.  Inspired by Ole Henriksen’s most requested treatment at his spa, the POWER Peel, this system is safe for even sensitive skin.  The products are housed in three pods that are numbered for each step and includes two professional sponges that are used to remove the product from your skin.  As you can see the sponges are flat (also referred to as dehydrated) but when you add water they expand.

This three-step system was new to me.  When I first took this out of the box I was a little confused.  I’m used to cleanse first, then scrub/exfoliate and serum.  It turns out I was complicating things.  When I read the instructions (imagine that!) I found there’s a reason it’s called a system.

 

Step 1:  Polish – Truth Sugar Glow Polishing Mask includes sugar, honey, and pomegranate seed powder for exfoliating.  This prepares your skin for the next step.

Apply to clean, damp skin, leave on for 5-10 minutes. Use warm water to gently massage in a circular motion for 30 seconds, then rinse clean and pat dry.

Step 2:  Brighten – Radiant Truth 25% Vitamin C Concentrate

Apply to dry skin. Leave on for 2-3 minutes. Treatment will begin to dry down slightly. Do NOT rinse off – follow with step 3.

Step 3:  Glow – Pure Truth Melting Cleanser

Apply directly on top of the 25% vitamin C concentrate and blend evenly over face (don’t rub or massage). Do not add water – there is enough product to spread over the skin. There may be a light tingling and warming sensation as the treatment is activated (I didn’t notice any tingling or a warming sensation but my skin isn’t sensitive and it’s used to strong products). Leave on for 10-15 minutes. To remove, dampen the sponges, or a washcloth, with lukewarm water and gently remove all product.  I rinsed out the sponges and swiped them across my skin a second time to make sure all product was removed.

I love the results from this product!  My skin was so smooth and glowing after using the POWER Bright, even the day after I used it. As far as purchasing I am considering the Truth Sugar Glow Polish by itself because I do need an exfoliator and the POWER Bright would be too much for my skin on a regular basis (taking into consideration my current routine).

All products can be purchased at Sephora or on their website

Thank you Influenster and Ole Henriksen for this opportunity to try these amazing products!

Which Ole Henriksen products have you tried or want to try?  Did you also receive this VoxBox?  I’d love to hear your thoughts!
* Don’t want to miss future posts?  Sign up for email, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Blovlovin!

2 thoughts on “Review: Ole Henriksen [Brightening Products]

Leave a Reply

