Birchbox February 2016 Review

 

0215161150a (2)

Birchbox is a monthly subscription where you receive at least five deluxe sample (or travel size) products to try for $10 a month.  When you sign up they have you answer a few questions and then try to send products based on your preferences.  Each month you receive a bright pink box that contains another cute (and reusable) box that contains samples and a coupon based on the month’s theme.

0215161137 (2)

Included in the box is a two-sided card with information.  One side tells about this month’s theme and the other lists the products with their full-size price.

0215161137a (2)

 

(Malin+Goetz) clarifying clay mask

malin_goetz_clarifying_clay_mask_3.4oz_900x900

This is a product I already have in my summer stash.  It’s ideal for acne-prone skin but I’ve used it when my skin was normal and didn’t have any problems.  This can also be used by those who are sensitive.  The mask contains kaolin clay to absorb oil and draw out impurities, powder-like pumice for exfoliation, anti-bacterial witch hazel, and arnica extract which is an anti-inflammatory.

PARLOR by Jeff Chastain Moisturizing Sea Salt Spray

parlor_moisturizingseasaltspray_900x900

My hair is short and straight so I have not tried this product.  On Birchbox’s website it has 4 stars from 10,000+ reviews so I would say check this out if you’re in the market for this type of product.

Pop Beauty Matte Velvet Lipstick

image

My favorite lipsticks are very moisturising and have good pigment.  I received this lipstick in the color Satin Rose which looks brighter on my lips than it does on my hand.  It’s matte so I almost didn’t try it.  Well I would have missed out on a decent lipstick.  This wears well and doesn’t feel dry on my lips.

Sahajan Restorative Eye Cream

sahajan_restorative-eye-cream_900x900

This lightweight eye cream has coconut oil for hydration, honey, triphala (an ayurvedic mix of three antioxidants) and neem oil (anti-inflammatory).  It’s slightly tinted and has a light scent.

stila HUGE extreme lash mascara

stila_hugeextremelashmascara_900x900_1 (2)

If you want mascara that gives length, volume, lift and bold color then add this to your list to try.   At first glance I wasn’t sure I would like the mascara because the brush is wider at the end.  I started at the root of my lashes and swept outward.  Wow!  In one swipe my lashes looked alive again.

What did you receive in your Birchbox?  Have you tried any of the products I received?  What are your thoughts?

* Don’t want to miss future posts?  Sign up for email, or follow us on Facebook, Twitter or Blovlovin!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

