Camouflaging Hyperpigmentation with Makeup [Part 3 of The Hyperpigmentation Series]

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
wpid-wp-1440024025671.jpg

Completely covering up hyperpigmentation with makeup is not an easy task!  For everyday makeup I use a liquid foundation to soften the discoloration.  If I had the ambition every morning (and time) to use an airbrush or had Dermablend I might be able to completely cover up the hyperpigmentation.  But the reality is I don’t.  I’m learning to use makeup to make it look less noticeable.  In this post I’m going to share with you a couple of options to camouflage sun damage.  You can read previous posts on this series at Part 1 and Part 2.

The first photo below is my daily look before any makeup:

Right Cheek before makeup 07282015

In this second photo I’ve used Bobbi Brown’s CC Cream which really helps soften the discoloration.  There are several products on the market that claim to “blur” imperfections.  I have not tried any but they may be worth trying if Bobbi Brown is not an option for you.

wpid-wp-1440024152132.jpgBobbi Brown CC Cream SPF 35 (2)Bobbi Brown CC Cream SPF 35 Swatch (2)

In the third photo I’m wearing Bobbi Brown Long-Wear Even Finish foundation.

wpid-wp-1440024284435.jpg

Bobbi Brown Long Wear Even Finish Foundation SPF 15 (2)

When I want extra coverage I use a concealer brush to apply my Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place High Cover Concealer SPF 35.

wpid-wp-1440024368410.jpgwpid-wp-1440025310914.jpg

*The products listed above are mine and I use every day.  I did not receive them as gratis or for free in any way.

One type of foundation that is great for covering up just about anything is stick foundation, which has been around for years.  It gets a bad rap for containing oils.  There are options now with good formulations for different types of skin.  One of the brands that recently released a stick foundation is Revlon, PhotoReady Insta-fix.

Photo borrowed from www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com
Photo borrowed from http://www.bobbibrowncosmetics.com

Below are photos of makeup before and after using Bobbi Brown’s Skin Stick Foundation.  A benefit of using stick foundation is that it can be layered in the spots where it’s needed.  Just be sure to blend!

Before Left Cheek Crop 072615Left Cheek Stick Foundation Crop 072615

The specific products used are Bobbi Brown’s Skin Foundation Stick, the Face Touch Up Stick (which is perfect to keep in your handbag for quick touch ups), and loose powder on my face.  For my dark circles I’m wearing Bobbi’s Corrector and Creamy Concealer Kit.  Please note these products were not given to me but I had access to them to use for demonstration (although I do own Corrector and Creamy Concealer Kit that were purchased by me).

image12How do you camouflage or conceal your discoloration?  I’d love to hear about what products you use or any techniques!

3 comments

  1. I’ve used Cover FX to cover discoloration. BB is to “yellow” for my skin tone. I also just use a good concealer and layer on foundation. I use “It” cosmetics concealer and am pretty happy with it. You do a great, GREAT job, BTW!!!!!!!

    • Thank you! I’ve heard concealer by “It” cosmetics is really good and as well as Cover FX. Thank you for sharing your tips!

Leave a Reply

