Birchbox August 2015 Review

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
P1030961 (2)

Birchbox is a monthly subscription where you receive at least five deluxe sample (or travel size) products to try for $10 a month.  When you sign up answer a few questions and they try to send products based on your preferences.  Each month you receive a bright pink box that contains another cute (and reusable) box that contains samples and a coupon based on the month’s theme.  This is my third Birchbox and I’ve been happy so far.  You can read my previous review here.

P1030908 (2)

The full size products can be purchased on their website.  There are ways to earn points (like reviewing the products you received in your box) and points = $ to spend in their shop.

P1030966 (2)This month’s theme is “soak it up!”  Make the most of summer’s last gasp.

P1030958 (2)P1030959 (2)

Enclosed is double-sided coupon.  One side offers a hot deal:  a Mini Waterproof Eyeliner Kit by Marcelle for $18 (a $35 value).  The flip side is receive a full-size bottle of Marcelle Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover with ANY Marcelle purchase (a $15 value).

P1030909 (2)

Birchbox also includes a card listing the products with their full-size price.

wpid-img_20150816_153737.jpg

*

P1030951 (2)Klorane Dry Shampoo with Oat Milk is “Naturally tinted for brunettes, this lightweight spritz absorbs grease and revives second-day hair.”

$20 Full-size price

I sprayed this on my dark hair and at first it was the typical white color.

The instructions say to wait 2 minutes and then brush thoroughly until the powder is removed.

After I brushed my hair the white color dissipated but I’m not sure why this is targeted for brunettes.

*

P1030919 (2) Scalisi Skincare Anti-Aging Moisturizer Broad Spectrum SPF30 “potent cream repairs skin, prevents future sun damage and improves texture over time.”

It appears the main sunscreen ingredients are:  Avobenzone, Octinoxate, and Octisalate

I’m usually not a fan of the way Avobenzone feels on my skin but this was quite nice.

The cream absorbed nicely and my skin didn’t feel greasy.

$65 for Full-size 1.7 oz.

*

P1030916 (2)

IPKN Flash Cream Radiant Primer “Rich in fruit extracts, this nourishing SPF15 primer creates a smooth, luminous canvas for makeup.”

I applied this to my skin and it gave me an immediate glow.  They contribute the radiance to a blend of fruit extracts and shimmer Pearl Powder, but it also contains Mica which is an ingredient that is known to give products (and skin) a glowing look.

$28 for Full-size 1.3 oz.

*

P1030914 (2) P1030915 (2)

theBalm Cosmetics Balm Desert Bronzer/Blush

I’ve heard really good things about their products.  Their product names and packaging usually looks fun to me in the photos I’ve seen.  I’m glad I have the opportunity to try it for myself now!

$21 for Full-size

*

P1030913 (2) St. Tropez Gradual Tan In Shower “This convenient, innovative self-tanner delivers buildable color for a natural-looking glow.”  I haven’t had the opportunity to try this yet.

$25 for Full-size 6.7 oz.

8 comments

  1. Fake Tan is my BFF. I had skin cancer some years ago and I fake my tans these days. I’m completely intrigued by the St. Trop shower tan. I’ll be trying it!!

    • I’m an esthetician and call myself a Sun Avoider. Between the chance of skin cancer and the brown spots surfacing I’ve embraced my fair skin. Let me know what you think about the product!

      • Oh I definitely will. My favorite of the moment are “Tan Towels”. The application is easy-peasy and not messy and the color lasts for days!

Leave a Reply

