Unveiling My First! Ipsy Glam Bag August 2015

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
P1030955Have you heard about (or subscribe to) Ipsy?  The Ipsy Glam Bag is a monthly subscription where you receive 5 products (full size and samples) of makeup, hair and/or beauty products with a small beauty bag.  They are delivered in a bright, shiny pink bag (which is fun and exciting to find in your mailbox!).

When you sign up you complete a few questions about yourself so the products you receive each month are based on your preferences.  There is normally a waitlist but right now they are accepting all new subscribers – so no waitlist.  This is the referral link for new subscribers – I only receive bonus points – no free products, no monetary compensation.  Once you are signed up you will also receive a referral link for friends.

Price:  $10.00 per month + tax and free shipping in the U.S. by USPS

August 2015 Ipsy Glam Bag

P1030935

This is my first month checking out Ipsy.  I enjoyed this month’s beauty bag and look forward to more.  My beauty bag has a houndstooth design with bright pink lining.  The size is approximately 7″ by 4″ which is perfect to carry in your handbag (I like to use them for organization).  The theme this month is “prep school.”

P1030938 (2)

My products included a sample size lipstick, mask and hair volumizer, a full size Eye/Lip Liner in one, and almost full size nail polish (really, close enough to full size for me).

There is an offer from Noyah for 15% off and a free lip balm and Ipsy offers the chance to win a one-year subscription (instructions are included).

Noyah All-Natural Lipstick

P1030873 (2)

Color:  Desert Rose (swatch is below)

$18 – full size product

I found this to be creamy and applied easily (no waxy feeling).  My lips have good pigment and this lipstick has good coverage so I would be able to wear this as a very light pinky-nude color.  (see swatch below)

Claim:  all natural, synthetics-free, no animal testing….    So I’ve added the ingredients below

Ingredients:  Ricinus Communis (Castor) Oil, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Candelilla Wax, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Butter, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Cocos Nucifera (and) Eupatorium Rebaudianum Bertoni Leaf Extract. [May Contain +/-: Titanium Dioxide (CL-77891), Iron Oxides (CI-7491, CI-77492,CI-77499), Mica.]

Skone Cosmetics Luxe Doubler Eye & Lip Pencil

P1030882 (2)

Color:  18 – Wine (see swatch below)

Value:  $15.00 (at the time of this post this product was on sale for $12.00 on their website)

This item is full size and a bit unique in that it can be used as an Eye Liner or Lip Liner.  If I purchased this color as either an eye liner OR a lip liner it would take me a long time to use it because I don’t wear this color every day.  The liner is soft and can be applied lightly for a medium/dark tone or worn as a dark color.  Added bonus:  after I took photos of the swatch I used a tissue to wipe if off and it left a stain on my arm.

P1030942 (2)

Juara Turmeric Antioxidant Radiance Mask *

P1030956 (2)

$35.00 for 3oz. (full size)

Claims:  Turmeric brightens skin, evens out the complexion, and provides antioxidant properties.  Kaolin Clay works to refine pores and rids skin of impurities.

Per the website, Juara uses white Turmeric, which will not stain skin.  The also indicate the mask will NOT harden, but will remain moist and comfortable on the face while removing impurities.

Briogeo Blossom & Bloom ginseng + biotin volumizer *

P1030895

$18 for 5.1oz. (full size)

This is a volumizing spray that enhances the look of hair fullness and acts as a thickener (Best for those with thin, fine, limp, and/or lifeless hair).

Does not contain Parabens or Phthalates

Per Briogeo‘s website – What else you need to know:  This cruelty-free, 98 percent naturally-derived formula is vegan-friendly and formulated without silicone, gluten, and synethic fragrances and dyes.

Trust Fund Beauty Le Vernis

P1030874 (2)

Color:  Elegantly Wasted.  I looked on their website and they have a few lavender shades.  All of their polishes have fun names – Put A Ring On It, Daddy Issues, I Had It First and I Wore It Better are just a few.

P1030876 (2)

In this photo I am wearing two layers of polish.  Each layer dried very quickly.

$15 for 1.7ml (full size), I received a 1.5ml bottle

The box indicates:  the polish is non-toxic and is “5 Free” which means no toluene, formaldehyde, lead, nickle or phthalates.  It is Vegan and Cruelty free.

* Indicates that I have not had an opportunity to try this product – yet.

8 thoughts on “Unveiling My First! Ipsy Glam Bag August 2015

  1. Wow! Ipsy glam bag looks like a pandora’s box 🙂

    You have described it beautifully using pictures. Though I don’t know much about fashion or bags–it looks like a good thing to have. 🙂

    Have a nice Sunday,

    Anand

    1. Thank you for the compliment! Let us know if there’s any subjects you’d like to learn more about or have a suggestion for us.

    1. Thank you! Taking photos is a work in progress for me so thank you for the compliment. I’m already looking forward to next month’s bag.

Leave a Reply

