Birchbox Unboxing the July 2015 Edition – by Traci Drury

This is my second Birchbox and I must say I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the products sent to me so far!  Birchbox is a great option if you want deluxe sample or travel sized products to try as opposed to a full size product.  I love to try new or different products so this is a great fit.  Enough about me!  Bring on the box!

IMG_20150710_201718

dr. brandt microdermabrasion skin exfoliant “Formulated with pharmaceutical-grade crystals” is listed on the front of the tube.  The crystals are very fine so it’s gentle and can be used once or twice a week.  There is a light citrus scent which I like.  Normally I recommend exfoliating at night but this left my skin feeling refreshed so it could be a nice wake-me-up on a morning when you really need it.  This will whisk away those dead skin cells leaving only soft and glowing skin!  Price:  $78 for 2 oz.

20150716_172505

Stila stay all day liquid lipstick in Venezia.  I’m a fan of lip products that are moisturizing so I had my reservations about this product.  My expectation was a liquidy product that’s very dry.  This was a pleasant surprise!  It applies like a creamy gloss, didn’t bleed and stays put for a very long time.  I applied the liquid lipstick at 6:30am.  I sipped on iced tea (with a straw), a glass of water, and snacked on some yogurt.  At 11:30am the liquid lipstick was still there!  It didn’t dry out my lips.  If you’re not used to this type of lipstick then it will be an adjustment as it was for me.  I added some gloss on top just before lunch which softened the liquid lipstick causing it to wear off (my fault – not the lipstick’s).  Price:  $22

0714151829a  0714151813b

Benefit They’re Real! Mascara has a long-wear formula that adds length and volume.  The brush has short and long bristles. The formula doesn’t weigh down my lashes after I curl them.  My sister works long days and has tried many mascaras before finding this.  She was looking for one that wouldn’t end up under her eyes at the end of the day.  She actually recommended this before I received the sample. As usual her recommendation was spot on.  Price:  $24 for 0.1 oz.

20150716_173132

COOLA Classic SPF 30 Cucumber Moisturizer for the Face is a lightweight moisturizer with Broad Spectrum coverage.  The sunscreen ingredients are Avobenzone (2%) and Octinoxate (2.1%).  The lotion-like formula absorbs easily and didn’t feel like I had sunscreen sitting on my skin.  This will be a good option for me in the winter as my skin is oily in the summer.  Perhaps the matte version would be a good fit for oily skin?   Price:  $32 for 1.7 oz.

20150716_172919_Richtone(HDR)

Oribe Dry Texturizing Spray – this is a product I’ve used before and love!  It’s a dry shampoo and volumizer – which I can always use because my hair is dark, straight and fine.  Just spray onto your roots and massage.  No white residue!  $42 for 8.5 fl. oz.

20150716_172809

I hope you enjoyed my first beauty box post!  Have you tried any beauty boxes?  If so, I’d love to hear about them and products that you either love or really dislike.

5 thoughts on “Birchbox Unboxing the July 2015 Edition – by Traci Drury

  1. […] Birchbox is a monthly subscription where you receive at least five deluxe sample (or travel size) products to try for $10 a month.  When you sign up answer a few questions and they try to send products based on your preferences.  Each month you receive a bright pink box that contains another cute (and reusable) box that contains samples and a coupon based on the month’s theme.  This is my third Birchbox and I’ve been happy so far.  You can read my previous review here. […]

  2. […] Birchbox is a monthly subscription where you receive at least five deluxe sample (or travel size) products to try for $10 a month.  When you sign up they have you answer a few questions and then try to send products based on your preferences.  Each month you receive a bright pink box that contains another cute (and reusable) box that contains samples and a coupon based on the month’s theme.  You can read my previous reviews for August here and July here. […]

Leave a Reply

