The Excitement of Receiving (and Giving) a Gift – by Traci Drury

Choosing a gift is so much fun for me.  If you’re ever in a pinch and don’t know what to give someone, give them something you love or something they won’t buy for themselves.  This makes the gift personal and the recipient gets to try something new.  Lip balm and hand cream are two splurges that I love to gift.

For my birthday last year my big sister gave me some of her favorite products (seen in the photo below) and I like them all.

image

Now, about the items in my gift bag.  Cle de Peau Beaute Perfect Lash Mascara has a curved brush.  It lengthens, adds volume, and adds a really nice natural curve.  I’ve never tried brown mascara but I love this for a softer everyday look.  The next item is Urban Decay Cosmetics waterproof 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil.  The color is Rockstar which is a dark purple and I didn’t have this shade in my inventory.  The pencil applies very softly and lasts all day.  My under-eye area is dry so I was hesitant to try a new eye product.  L’oreal Paris Revitalift Miracle Blur Instant Eye Smoother Eye Treatment didn’t moisturize for me but it has ingredients that instantly brighten and the finish is very soft.  (For me) this is a good brightener, softens the color of my dark circles and acts as a primer before concealer.  It’s also good to use if I’m going to be home and don’t want to wear concealer for those dark circles.  The Dermalogica Skin Resurfacing Cleanser cleanses and exfoliates.  Lactic Acid, the third ingredient, is a gentle exfoliator.  It’s my understanding that if a cleanser contains an exfoliant other than micro beads the product should be left on for a couple of minutes which allows the ingredient to penetrate and exfoliate.  So I use this like a mask and leave it on for a minute or two.  Cleanser, exfoliator and mask in one!

Now it’s my turn to give her a birthday gift as well as my sister-in-law.  I’ll see them both next weekend so I’ve been having fun choosing items.  What did I choose?  I can’t tell you right now or I’ll spoil the surprise for them!

Have you tried any of these products or have something you’ve received as a gift that you really like?  Do you have something that is a go-to gift?  Tell us about it!

Leave a Reply

